Halloween is my favorite holiday of the year. I love dressing up whether I have a party to go to or not. I thought a nice treat would be appropriate to share on this special day, and it comes in the form of COOKIES! Mmmmm. image-25

I’ve tried several vegan chocolate chip cookie recipes, most of them require the use of a flax egg or vegan margarine. My recipe uses neither. I normally have no problem baking with a flax egg in my bread recipes, however I can’t say it behaves the same for cookie recipes. They turn out too grainy, don’t rise, and don’t taste great. I found a new recipe and made a few adjustments, making the ultimate chocolate chip cookie!

image-23

Recipe:

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup coconut oil

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup almond milk (soy, coconut, cashew, etc. work as well)

1 tablespoon vanilla

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, mix coconut oil, brown sugar, milk, maple syrup, and vanilla together. Whisk together well so that the texture is between liquid and creamy. *I like to melt the coconut oil by filling a pot with water, setting the glass jar of coconut oil in it, and heat slowly on the stove.*

Pour the liquid mixture into the dry mixture. Stir together and add the chocolate chips. Once mixed, form cookie dough balls and place on baking sheet. Bake for 6-10 minutes.

Enjoy!

image (24).jpeg

