image-14I am a hummus wolf. It is a staple in our house, and we put it on just about anything. I was eating 2-3 containers of Sabra hummus a week, and at almost $4 per container, that just wasn’t going to work in my budget. I set out on a DIY hummus mission, and after tinkering with a few different recipes, I’ve finally created a concoction that I whip up during every Sunday meal prep. The base recipe is simple, making it easy to create variations depending on your taste preferences. I personally like making 2 cup batches of different flavors to enjoy throughout the week!

The base of this recipe includes chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, and lemon juice. I add a few cloves of garlic, cayenne pepper, curry, and salt & pepper to taste, but you could easily had red peppers, cumin, herbs of province, or any other tasty herbs.. it’s your creation!

One other note: I use dry beans in all of my recipes, including my Black Bean Burgers image-13(recipe coming soon!). They are MUCH cheaper than buying canned beans and you get so much more out of them . Never used dry beans before? It’s easy! Just remember 1 cup of dry chickpeas = 3 cups of cooked chickpeas. This recipe calls for 2 cups of cooked chickpeas, so simply adjust your dry bean quantity to match your desired hummus output. Ideally you want to soak dry chickpeas overnight, however I’ve read that 1 hour is sufficient soaking time prior to cooking if time is of the essence. Once they have soaked, it’s time to strain, rinse, recover with water and bring to a boil. Once the water is boiling, let simmer for an hour or longer. It is helpful to get the chickpeas as mushy as possible so they are easier to blend. I also read that shelling the chickpeas after cooking them helps with smoothness, however it is time consuming. I’ve never shelled mind and my hummus turns out very smooth, just spend a little more time blending.

Recipe:

2 cups cooked Chickpeas

3 tablespoons Tahini

3 tablespoons Olive Oil

2 tablespoons Lemon Juice

1-3 cloves Garlic

salt, pepper, & any other spices to taste

(I like to use cayenne & curry)

Directions

In a food processor or blender, blend ingredients together until desired smoothness. Store in air tight container, and enjoy!

image-15

image (16).jpeg

